Mikkeller 1000IBU: Strong Medicine

Mikeller 1000IBU (beer)

Unrated: novelty value only

Mikkeller – Denmark’s ‘gypsy brewer’ – is famed for a number of things, but his achievement of making what is supposedly the world’s hoppiest beer is now seared into my memory. And palate.

With a theoretical rating of 1000 International Bitterness Units (IBUs), Mikkeller 1000 IBU has a reputation that makes it irresistable, in the same way that a dangerous mountain or really spicy food is alluring because of the challenge it promises. I like hops, even very strong double IPAs, so I scurried down to The Scratch in excitement, like a moth attracted to a fiery green hop-lamp. Needless to say, I got burnt.

I’ll let the photos describe the experience for you.

It looked like this:

And I was like:

BITTER

Because it tasted like:

I guess sometimes memorable accomplishments aren’t always pleasant. Having guzzled almost half a litre of this stuff, I feel like I have more hops in me than the average brewery.

Much like Rex Attitude, this an a beer for extremophiles. Try it once, at the end of a session, and savour the craziness even as your palate dries and your eyes start to water. Don’t even think about trying to enjoy anything afterwards.

BONUS FACT: This was the 4.9% ‘lite’ version. Apparently they do a 9% one which is inexplicably named ‘ultramate’.

Maaaaate.

2 responses

  1. The Mistress

    I see you’ve been taking some facial expression lessons from me… But why the haircut always while I’m away?!

    April 29, 2012 at 8:31 pm

  2. Dan

    I love the .gif. The analogy of the beer tasting like Panado was super effective. This was ultra, mate. Mooooyte

    May 13, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

